Shooting Outside My Comfort Zone

Shooting landscapes does not come naturally to me–other than waterfalls. For the very first assignment in my first college photography course, when I was a very young woman, I shot waterfalls down in Green River Gorge in Washington State. I shot b & w film and used a tripod and mostly 30th of a second exposures. Just about every shot on the roll was good! The class instructor was amazed looking at my roll of negatives–the first roll I’d ever developed. He worked in the darkroom with me to make prints on his good photo paper. But a barn? No, I’d never shot a barn before. So, this morning at 6:30 a.m. it seemed odd even to me to be standing in the middle of a remote rural road in Ohio so I could shoot the Obama barn. ┬áIt never would have occurred to me to shoot the barn at all– the oddity of the painted words Barak Obama and Forward on the sides of the barn caught my attention.

ObamaBarncloseBest

Leave a Reply

